18. It will be seen that there have been four complete Parliaments, and three Sessions of the fifth. The first Parliament was the longest one, and the second was the shortest. The average length of each Session has been 82 days, or about 12 weeks, the longest Session was in 1885, viz., 24 weeks, 4 days; and the next longest was in 1867-68, viz., 16 weeks, 4 days. The shortest Session was in 1873, and only lasted 2 weeks and 1 day.

19. The next table gives the names of the holders of the different Cabinet offices since Confederation, with the dates of their respective appointments. There have only been two changes of Government and three Ministries, and with the exception of trom 7th November, 1873, to 17th October, 1878, Sir John A. Macdonald has been in power during the whole period.

20. In 1879 a Bill was passed dividing the office of the Minister of Public Works; the new Department assuming exclusive control of Railways and Canals, and in the same Session the office of Receiver-General was abolished.

Portfolio.	Name.	Date of Appointment.
and a second	annan an a	
Premiers Ministers of Justice and At-	Right Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald Hon. Alex. Mackenzie Right Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald	Nov. 7, 1873
torney-Generals	Right Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald Hon. Antoine Aimé Dorion "Télesphore Fournier "Edward Blake	Nov. 7, 1873 July 8, 1874
	<ul> <li><sup>(i)</sup> Rodolphe Laflamme</li></ul>	June 8, 1877 Oct. 17, 1878 May 20, 1881
Ministers of Militia and De- tence	Hon. Sir George E. Cartier '' Hugh McDonald '' William Ross '' William B. Vail '' A. G. Jones '' L. F. R. Masson '' Sir Alexander Campbell '' Sir J. P. R. A. Caron	July 1, 1873 Nov. 7, 1873 Sept. 30, 1874 Jan. 21, 1878 Oct. 19, 1878 Jan. 16, 1880
Fisheries	Hon. Peter Mitchell '' Albert J. Smith " Hon. J. C. Pope '' A. W. McLelan '' G. E. Foster	Nov. 7, 1873 Oct. 19, 1878 July 10, 1882
Ministers of Public Works	Hon. W. McDougall '' Sir Hector Langevin '' Alexander Mackenzie '' Sir Charles Tupper '' Sir H. L. Langevin	Dec. 9, 1869 Nov. 7, 1873 Oct. 17, 1878

CABINET MINISTERS OF CANADA SINCE 1867.